Thoughtful Thursday – 05/02/2013

My Attitude…is My Life

Stopped at a light the other day a peddler on the side of the road caught our attention.  He was dancing.  Not just a little sway of the hips, but full on “bustin the move” right there for all of us to see.   We couldn’t help but watch him and smile.  His joy was contagious to everyone in the car.  We rolled down our window and gave him the snacks I had set aside for the kids.  With a huge grin on his face, and one tooth left in his mouth he smiled with gratitude as he took the food.  We told him he was a great dancer and he replied, “you should hear my poetry!”  He then began rehearsing from memory poems that he had written.  Beautiful.  We thanked him for making us smile today and told him to have a wonderful day.

As I drove away everyone in the car was quiet.  Left to my own thoughts I couldn’t help but think of this man’s attitude towards His Life.  With shabby clothes, only one tooth in his mouth, and tousled hair he carried a smile and wanted to share it with others.  He was grateful for the talents that he had and wanted to share them.

Despite his situation in life he could see the good and focused on it.  I learned a lot from his example that day.

Not only to smile and dance when things get tough, but that….

My Attitude…. is My Life.

While adventuring in Dallas last week we found a little treasure.   We love to search for secret treasures in antique stores, and this poem was the little “gem” we found. 

Attitude

MY ATTITUDE

I promise myself

To be so strong that nothing can                                                   

   disturb my peace of mind.                                                               

To talk health, happiness and prosperity

   to every person I meet.

To make all my friends feel that 

   there is something in them.

To look at the sunny side of everything

   and make my optimism come true.

To think only of the best, to work only for 

   the best, and expect only the best.

To be just as enthusiastic about the success

   of others as I am about my own. 

To forget the mistakes of the past and press

   on to the greater achievements of the future. 

To wear a cheerful countenance at all times 

   and give every living creature I meet a smile. 

To give so much time to the improvement of

   myself that I have no time to criticize others. 

To be too large for worry, too noble for

   anger, too strong for fear, and too happy to permit the pressure of trouble. 

My Attitude…Is My Life

This entry was posted in Inspiration, Thoughtful Thursdays and tagged , , , on by .

About Joy

We are a couple of gals who have seen the joy that can be added to someone’s life by a single act of kindness. We are mothers, wives, sisters, friends, and Mormons who want to make a difference. We are what we believe in. We believe first and foremost that Jesus Christ is the Savior of the world and the Son of God. We believe in a restoration of all the teachings of Jesus Christ. We are motivated by love, charity, and faith. Our faith is our inspiration to do and see the good all around us. Even though we all have diverse backgrounds and experiences, we feel by uniting with others committed to serving we can make a difference.

Comment on this Post