Kindness IS Contagious

November Challenge

“Do not waste time bothering whether you ‘love’ your neighbor; act as if you did. As soon as we do this we find one of the great secrets. When you are behaving as if you loved someone, you will presently come to love him.” C.S. Lewis

I think this month’s challenge was a personal mission more than anything else.  My children and I made delicious brownie minis sprinkled with love and decided to deliver them to our surrounding neighbors. I waited til my husband returned home and together we taught our children the importance of showing our love to others through service.  We explained that delivering the brownies to them would open up the doors of friendship.

My son carried the little “Hello Neighbor” note for them and my daughter carried the brownies.  They were so excited that they didn’t even wait until my husband and I got to the door to ring the doorbell.  Watching my children race to the door made me think of this quote that I love.

“The art of mothering is to teach the art of living to children”

Author: E. Heffiner

We taught them a little and they took off running. J

The first delivery we made was to a beautiful family from India.  They immediately welcomed us into their home.  It was so much fun to see their response to our visit.  They were excited to have us there, and we were excited to be there.  The Father with a huge smile on his face said, “I love doing these kinds of things, but am always reluctant to take the first step… thank you for coming over tonight.”

The next family we visit also invited us in.  Their warm welcome immediately developed a relationship of trust and friendship.  In maybe 5-10 minutes we were able to get to know each other better and offer our protection and love as neighbors.   By the time we were leaving we were already making plans to hang out again.

The last home we visit also gave us a very warm welcome.  Their gratitude for the brownies and our presence that night was comforting.

Later that night my husband very sincerely told me that he was so grateful we had taken the challenge to meet more of our neighbors.  Not only did we gain several new friends that night, but we developed a neighborhood unity that was not there before.

The next evening one of the neighbors returned the favor and brought us over treats.  What you chose to do inspires others to do the same. Kindness IS contagious.

Spread it yourself this month by taking the November Challenge, and please share your experience with us.

This entry was posted in Take the Challenge on by .

About Joy

We are a couple of gals who have seen the joy that can be added to someone’s life by a single act of kindness. We are mothers, wives, sisters, friends, and Mormons who want to make a difference. We are what we believe in. We believe first and foremost that Jesus Christ is the Savior of the world and the Son of God. We believe in a restoration of all the teachings of Jesus Christ. We are motivated by love, charity, and faith. Our faith is our inspiration to do and see the good all around us. Even though we all have diverse backgrounds and experiences, we feel by uniting with others committed to serving we can make a difference.

One thought on “Kindness IS Contagious

  1. Julie Helm

    Oh my gosh! I love what the two of you are doing. Thank you. I can’t think of a more noble example than to encourage people to remember who they are and what they stand for by asking us to make greater efforts to show that we care.

    I’ve decided that I’m going to keep fifty one dollar bills in my car. Why? Because I’m not the judge of those people having to stand out on corners in my city (or any city) and beg for money or food. I’m their friend. And though I don’t know them…I feel for them.

    Are there some who have turned their needs into a profitable business? I have no doubt there are many. Again, I’m not here to judge them. I’m hoping that when and if I see someone in desperate need, the spirit of God will s how me where my money can do the most good. I’m going to listen harder.

    Reply

Comment on this Post

