Person of the Week 10/4/2012

Avery Beth

Avery could not wait to come into this world. I think that is why she was born in the car. She was ready. I also believe this is why her stay in the NICU only lasted 6 days. Avery was fighting with all of her strength to be on this Earth. She learned to regulate her oxygen, her temperature and learned how to eat in six days which is no small feat when you are born with Down syndrome. She is strong.

Within a half an hour after birth, we were told that we had a baby girl and she was showing physical markers of Down syndrome. I was told when I was completely alone and therefore I barely allowed the nurse’s words to pierce my brain or my heart. It was simply too frightening.

But now that time has passed and the shock has worn off, Avery has ultimately healed that frightening wound. Just by being herself and being a part of our family. She is almost 6 months old now and she has proven herself stronger than I ever could have imagined. From the very moment I met her she has imparted that to me – strength. And she has given me peace. She emanates it. You cannot help but feel at peace being in her presence. Try it – you will see.

One of her greatest gifts is bringing out the very best in those around her. Or even those who have never met her. Strangers. There is a love from her that I believe others can feel and they want to return it to her. It is a hard-fought gift that I am infinitely grateful for.

Avery also has a joy that know no bounds. Her smile appears the minute I pick her up, even if she is hungry or tired or in pain. She smiles through it all and is patient with me who makes her wait to eat at times, or her brothers who smother her with kisses, or her sister who carries her everywhere, or her Dad who makes her snuggle even after her bed time.

Down syndrome seemed so scary to me at her birth. And while I understand there is much more to this than I know and more to worry about in relation to Down syndrome, it is just a portion of who Avery is. She is my daughter. She is joyful, loving, patient, and strong. She is many things. And she is a person with Down syndrome. Not the other way round.

Kristi W. (Avery’s Mom)

Note from Kae: Get involved! Come join in the fun at the Color Me Rad 5K and benefit Special Olympics – helping sweet kids like Avery achieve!

This entry was posted in Profiles and tagged on by .

About Kae

We are a couple of gals who have seen the joy that can be added to someone’s life by a single act of kindness. We are mothers, wives, sisters, friends, and Mormons who want to make a difference. We are what we believe in. We believe first and foremost that Jesus Christ is the Savior of the world and the Son of God. We believe in a restoration of all the teachings of Jesus Christ. We are motivated by love, charity, and faith. Our faith is our inspiration to do and see the good all around us. Even though we all have diverse backgrounds and experiences, we feel by uniting with others committed to serving we can make a difference.

5 thoughts on “Person of the Week 10/4/2012

  1. Naomi

    Love, love, love this blog. Thank you for sharing. I obviously adore Avery as she is such a joy and angel in our lives. Her spirit is so strong and she lights up any room she is in. Thanks ladies for sharing and thank you Kristi for opening your heart and feelings to us.

    Reply
  2. Janae

    What an awesome blog! Heaven knows we all have days where we need a “Pick me up”, and I have found that serving others is always the best “pick me up”. I look forward to reading more 🙂

    Reply
  3. Tammi Thornton Weenig

    LOVE this story about sweet Avery! Kristi, you are an amazing mother–there’s a reason you and Nolan were chosen to be her parents. Thanks for sharing a glimpse into your Avery’s journey with us.

    Reply
  4. Pingback: Photo Shoot - Miss Avery - Macy Robison | Blog

Comment on this Post

